Friday Favorites: chemical free beauty products

This is one of my favorite posts to read around the interwebs, so I figured I’d do one myself. This one is focused on all-natural…or at least, harmful chemical free…beauty products. I’m new to this. Do I need to tell you that I’m not being paid to say these things? I’m not being paid. I wish I was. But I’m not.

Shampoo & Conditioner: Say Yes to Carrots Daily Pampering
ytc_pampering_shampoo_conditioner

I love this stuff. Petroleum, SLS, and paraben free. Why is that important? Parabens are used to extend the shelf life of shampoos and conditioners—they can also cause cancer.  Petroleum and SLS are also harmful, and can cause irritation. I’ve been SLS-free for a few years, and find when I have to go back for a day or two because I don’t have any natural shampoos on hand, my hair is a greasy mess. My hair is also in the best shape it’s ever been in, and I attribute that to washing it less and minimizing the chemicals.

Deodorant: Primal Pit Paste
th

This stuff is amazing. AMAZING. If you’ve ever tried natural deodorant before, it can be…bad. Sweaty. Smelly. I’m a naturally sweaty girl. Throw in some activity, and it’s ten times worse. I’ve tried natural deodorants before…crystals, tubes, sticks. Some of them smell good, some don’t smell like anything. Most all of them have resulted in sweaty armpits and paranoia all day.

Until I came across Primal Pit Paste. It has no aluminum (aluminum is crazy toxic and can cause a number of maladies) but totally works. It is essentially baking soda and essential oils. It comes in two varieties: strong or normal. I recommend using normal first, then segway into strong if you feel that you need it. You can also get it in a stick or in a paste. They have trial sizes, too!

Moisturizer: Say Yes to Cucumbers & Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration
14180998_120726103000

I absolutely love Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration…though it says it’s a day lotion, I tend to only use it at night so my face isn’t an oil slick. I have very dry skin, but too much of a heavy product won’t help anything.

ytcU_moisturizer

For daytime use, I use Yes to Cucumbers Daily Calming Moisturizer. It’s super light and calms my sensitive skin down. It’s awesome!

Toothpaste: Tom’s of Maine Simply White
picscall

I decided to switch to an all-natural toothpaste and mouthwash when I realized how much we accidentally swallow over the course of our lives. I read somewhere (can’t find the link!) that we swallow about a pound a year on accident. Ew. I’d rather accidentally swallow something with less chemicals, so I switched.

So, there you have it! My Friday favorites. I’ll have to do a part two post at some point because I didn’t cover nearly half of the products I use. What is your favorite all-natural products?

Leave a Reply

